Spaghetti 2.0

There is a short list of items that every grain-free person years to have back on the menu.  For me, it’s pizza and spaghetti. I’m still searching for the perfect grain-free, dairy-free pizza, but at least I have spaghetti back in my repertoire. And dare I say, this spaghetti dish tastes better than the old gluteny pasta noodles of my past! Everyone I serve this dish to goes gaga for the zucchini noodles. Paired with a glass of red wine, I almost feel like a regular Italian diner again.

For this dish you will need some sort of vegetable peeler.  If you eat strictly paleo, I highly recommend purchasing the World Cuisine Spiral Vegetable Peeler, a fancy tool I now use all the time (you can also use a less fancy still awesome Julienne Tool). I separate my life into Before and After I bought this tool – it’s useful for so many things! Just look at this gorgeous dish of zucchini pasta and kale!

Close up goodness

For this dish you will need:

  • 4 Zucchini, julienned
  • 1 bunch of kale, sliced into .5″ pieces and blanched in boiling water for about 2 – 3 minutes
  • 1 lb ground meat (optional for vegetarians)
  • Pasta sauce (I often use 1 can of Bertolli Organic pasta sauce because it is a big time-saver, plus it’s paleo – however here are some other  sauce recipes – some day I will share my carrot sauce recipe)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 Cup mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 TB thyme
  • 1 ts each salt, pepper, rosemary

To prepare: 1. Throw yer meat in a frying pan and cook it until golden brown, make sure to drain the excess grease! (I used to make meatballs for this dish, but my boyfriend immediately mashs them into crumbly bits with his fork, so why bother with the fancy?)
2. In the same pan, combine sauce, spices, onion, mushrooms and kale. Heat on low and cover for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
3. Julienne your zuchini into a big family sized bowl
4. Once the sauce is done, combine it one cup at a time into your bowl of zuchini pasta, mixing well. I used to just dump a heap of sauce on top of my ‘noodles’ but it tastes much better to lightly cover the noodles in sauce and gradually add more to taste.

Voilà! Your Italian friends won’t shun you from the dinner table any longer, because you now can slurp noodles with the best of ’em! Buon appetito!

One thought on “Spaghetti 2.0

Leave a Reply

